“Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.”

1 Timothy 4:12

Pencils are sharpened, books are purchased, and fall is hiding just around the corner. School is here. Teachers have jumped right back into lectures on poetry, geometry, and American history, and students have braced themselves for hours of homework and early mornings. In the busyness of bus schedules, after school activities, and packing lunches, I want to challenge students to take a moment and really ask the Lord what He wants for this year. Is it participating in 3 different sports teams, auditioning for every show, and making the 98 percentile in your class? Or do you think He has something else in mind?

For high school graduate Chanan Slay, she believed God had a unique plan for her senior year. Chanan attended Passion 2012, and the theme of Freedom immediately grabbed her attention. She shared with the staff of Wellspring Living about how this conference impacted her:

“I learned so much about modern slavery and craved to know even more, because I had no idea it still existed. It was my senior year of high school, and I wanted to use this new knowledge somehow in my senior project.

I decided to make it worthwhile and use my project to make a difference.

I heard about Wellspring Living at the Passion Conference and knew that was the organization I wanted to help. I designed T-shirts with the following quote: “Slavery still exists. There are 27 million slaves in the world today. Join the movement to end modern-day slavery.”

I initially ordered 75 thinking there was no way I would be able to sell all of them. I ended up having to make two additional orders adding up to 131 shirts in a couple of months! This raised $1,220 for Wellspring Living! Christ is moving in me to raise awareness for this issue, but to also make his name famous!”

Chanan used her senior project to make a difference. What can you do this year to make his name famous? The sky is the limit! “Set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.”

