Last week Jeff Goins posted a blog with tips for the not-so-early-risers on how to “conquer the alarm clock” (Loren Pinilis wrote this post for Jeff).  Being someone who needs an extra push to start the day, this post immediately caught my attention. I would highly recommend reading it if you are consistently at war with the snooze button.

There was one point in the post that stuck out to me, in a bit of a pointed and convicting manner. The author suggested developing a ‘get to’ attitude every morning when the alarm goes off, and encouraged his readers to get excited about their day. He noted waking up early to work isn’t something you have to do but something you get to do.

This hit me pretty hard.

When was the last time I got out of bed and was genuinely excited about the work that was in front of me? Of course there are points to your week that are more exciting and rewarding, but is there a way we can strive to make those points more frequent?

Not only am I blessed to be using my college degree, I am honored to work with an issue I am incredibly passionate about – domestic sex trafficking. Obviously knowing this isn’t going to cause me to jump out of bed to fanfare music, but it is a great reminder to be thankful for what I am privileged to do everyday.

The last couple of days have been a little easier to wake up and start the day because I have changed my mindset. Every morning I remind myself of the joys and victories this particular day can bring, and it gets me a little more excited to turn on the coffee pot and open my email. It sounds a little cliché, but I promise it works. This is coming from a self-declared and peer-encouraged night owl and NOT a morning person.

What do you do everyday that you are privileged to do? How can your morning outlook change to encourage a healthy attitude? I’d love to read about them in the comments below.

