Tags

, ,


Over the weekend my husband and I had a wonderful opportunity to attend Sunday service at the Ida Calloway Chapel at Calloway Gardens. It’s a beautiful chapel reminiscent of 16th-century Gothic chapels. There are six stained glass windows depicting the Southern forest in a progression of seasons.  Standing in the midst of the Chapel, you can’t help but quiet your mind and seek God.

Sunday service was only thirty minutes long and the lesson for the day didn’t take much time before it hit my heart.

Humility.  

The pastor shared the story of John 13 – Christ washing the disciples feet. At the time the disciples were so busy wanting to be Jesus’ favorite they lost sight of their purpose, to serve God. 

Jesus reminded them it’s not about them, and it’s not about who sits on His right or left. It’s about the Kingdom of God on earth and heaven.

They were reminded it was their commitment to build the kingdom.

It was their commitment to help others experience the same forgiveness they received. I heard God loud and clear in the Ida Calloway Chapel:

Check your humility.

It was one year ago on June 24th when God guided me to Wellspring Living. This organization landed right in front of me – gift wrapped with a pretty bow on top!

As I began to volunteer, there was a still a void in my heart.  I craved to learn more, do more, and be more. As time went on, God blessed me with an opportunity to contribute to Wellspring Living I never dreamed possible—to help connect churches in the restoration of women.  The journey has been amazing and has only just begun.  But lately, I’ve let my pride get in my way—actually, in God’s way.

In John 13 Christ says,

If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. ” (John 13:14)

Here we are taught to learn humility by doing good for others, by doing acts of service or kindness for our brothers and sisters. Reflecting on the sermon God gently asked me to symbolically wash another’s feet.  I’m grateful for the blessings God and Wellspring Living has bestowed on my family.  I’ve said thank you – but what I have DONE lately? Sadly, I have not done much.

Our family is committed to seeing the end of child hood sexual abuse and exploitation of girls.  We are part of the solution.  

Will you join us?  In July we committed to give Wellspring Living a financial donation to support the solution. Give back what has been given to us. We invite you to join us.  You don’t have to tell anyone.

JUST DO IT

You don’t have to come up with master plan of giving back.

JUST DO IT.

You don’t need to hesitate.

JUST DO IT.

Did you know that one day of therapy for our girls is $56?  I am truly humbled to admit some of the things I spent $56 on last week. Maybe you can give one girl a week of therapy.  Maybe you can give one girl an hour of prayer a week. It might be doing yard work at one of the homes.  Whatever it is – JUST DO IT.

What does it feel like to show humility in your life?  How does your heart feel when you JUST DO IT?  Let’s find out together.

