Cooking is fascinating to me. I love watching people cook. Although my ever-so-talented mother did not pass the chef’s gene to me, I do enjoy dabbling in a little baking and cooking merriment.

I also love cooking at the women’s home. Last fall, I brought a friend to the home and we baked pumpkin pie and made homemade cider. We had such a good time marrying the sweet smells of cinnamon to the buttery crust of the pie, and the women loved the activity.

It was also a great time of fellowship with the women. The smells, tastes, and overall experience made it easy for them to share stories, talk about their favorite hobbies, and just relax into the evening.

I wanted to share this with our online audience to see if someone would like to volunteer their cooking services to the women’s home. We are looking for someone who has experience cooking and knows a thing or two about starting a business. We always encourage explorative learning through our life skills classes, and we would love to have someone teach our women some entrepreneurial skills surrounding cooking and a start-up business. A lot of our women are interested in cooking, and a life skills class teaching them how to start a restaurant, bakery, or café would be incredibly beneficial.

If you are interested in volunteering to teach this class, please email volunteer@wellspringliving.org and note in the email you are interested in teaching the cooking class mentioned in the blog.

This is going to be a great class! We would love your help!

