This guest post is the second part of the series about the Redeemed Assessment Center by our Assessment Center Director, Kristine Wendt. It dives into what Kristine experiences when the women first come into our program. Check out the first of the series here.

When I experienced majority-world conditions for the first time on my freshman trek to Kenya, I was surprised by what my eyes saw. It was hard to acknowledge the reality that what perhaps I had only seen in National Geographic or on a Sally Struthers infomercial, was life for some and I’d consider myself a rational and reasonable adult

My heart broke. My eyes leaked tears. My words fell quietly.

Until I saw Life! And Life did I see: joy, giggles, laughter, smiles, community, and compassion. I saw people, I saw humanity. I didn’t see statistics. I saw life.

What a radiant foreshadowing from the Lord. Now,  I interact with women who are fresh from traumatic and difficult life circumstances.  Here in the Redeemed Assessment Center, it is very raw, vulnerable, and turbulent.

It’s raw because life has wounded them, people have wounded them and the scars haven’t healed yet.

It’s vulnerable, because often times these women are wondering what you think of them and are waiting for the bottom to fall out again, just ONE more time.

It’s turbulent because bodies and minds and emotions crave the things outside of these walls, and crave the normalcy of the life they have led.

But at the home it’s quiet.  It’s a haven.  It’s a sanctuary of peace and calm and healing. This transition isn’t easy for the women. Though they come of their own accord, it’s not easy to embrace the pace of the Redeemed Assessment Center because much of it contradicts what happens beyond these walls. Not one element of survival, isolation, ridicule, nor promiscuity reign here. The Redeemed Assessment Center is ripe with teamwork, compassion, healing, space, and peace.

This transition is difficult. BUT OH, how glorious it is when it’s embraced.

These are women. I see humanity here within these walls. I don’t see statistics. I see potential for abundant life.

Love lives here because Christ is the person of Love. His very nature and character emanate and permeate our residence with the fundamental belief that HE is the Counselor, Healer, Teacher, Author, and Guide for this abundant life.

1 John 4:16 (ESV)

So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love, and whoever abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him.”

John 10:10 (AMP)

The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).”

