When I met #Passion2012 student Lindsey Dedge, her enthusiasm was addicting. After she excitedly spilled about her passion for Wellspring Living and the 72 Days for Freedom campaign, I knew I had to get her to guest blog. These are her words, as she reflects on the campaign and the impact on the city:

When I was asked to write this little snippet for the Wellspring Living blog, I was so pumped. I have been passionate about the fight against human trafficking for a few years now. Or so I’ve always said. After I said yes, the doubt of my legitimacy crept in. I’m a really honest person, so I couldn’t continue writing without coming clean with you. I have never, to my knowledge, met a victim of human trafficking. I have never been apart of a ministry who has helped in the restoration of these victims, and I have never been on a brothel or strip club raid. After going over this truth, I started questioning whether or not I was the right person to write about the 72 days of Freedom. Sitting down at my computer today, I began praying about what I was supposed to say. I don’t believe in coincidence so I know that I was asked to write this for a purpose, and as I was talking to Jesus, He reminded me of something so very important.

I may not know a victim of trafficking, but He does. Even though I have never met a person who has been trafficked, Jesus knows them personally and He cares about them so much. Each and every one of them.

Because of that fact, I am the right person to speak about this. The God that I love and I have the privilege of following has this written in His word; “No, O people, the Lord has told you what is good, and this is what He requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.” (Micah 6:8 NLT). He has told me to do what is right, even though I don’t know a person to personally connect to this cause. I am able to have a voice, where theirs were taken away.

I was a student at Passion 2012 this January, and our main focus was the fact that there are 27 million people world-wide trapped in slavery. Before Passion, it was so easy to see this issue as an “overseas” problem, not something that is happening down the street from me. I recently moved to Atlanta from a small town in Florida, and learning that I had moved in to one of the biggest hubs for sex trafficking in the world, was a very hard pill to swallow.

How could I live here, and remain silent about this abomination?

At Passion God made it very clear that silence and indifference was no longer an option. God knew what He was doing when He moved me up here two days before this life-changing event. He wasn’t going to let me escape the fact that slavery and human trafficking was very real problem.

At an event like Passion it is so easy to get caught up in the hype of things, so to speak. When you experience God the way you do with 45, 000 other kids your age, of course you are pumped up and ready to go change the world! Sadly, it can only take a few months for that high to wear off. Regrettably, it would have probably been me if I would have gone back to St. Augustine after Passion. BUT, I am incredibly blessed to go to Passion City Church, and because of that, once again I wasn’t able to escape the fact that slavery still exists, even if I wanted to! We launched the 72 Days for Freedom campaign back on February 27th, and brought back the GIANT hand we built at Passion Conference. It’s the coolest thing I have ever been apart of in my whole life. Each week we hear stories about how local neighbors and members of the community drive through our church parking lot and learn for the first time about how severe the issue of human trafficking is. Going to Passion City and being a part of the 72 Days for Freedom, has enabled me to get plugged into two different ministries fighting human trafficking.

I’m finally feeling like I’m learning how to tune my heart in sync with God’s, and my church makes it so easy to get involved.

God hates slavery, He hates bondage.

That’s why He sent His son, for our freedom. Since we have experienced His freedom, it’s time to be the hands, feet, and voices of those trapped in slavery and bondage. That’s what 72 Days for Freedom is about.

