This weekend I watched The Help for the first time. It was a perfect night to watch a movie like this because I was in a very thoughtful mood. I was reflecting on my generation and our part in ending modern-day slavery. I was thinking about it from a perspective of over 50 years ago to today. For those of you who haven’t seen it, the movie is set back in the sixties during the civil rights movement in the homes of middle-class white families. It is about three young women who displayed a tremendous amount of courage to expose the poor treatment of African-American household servants. These women faced loss of respect from their family and friends, the possibility of being excommunicated from their communities, and even jail time. I started thinking about abolitionists of today, and how uniquely every person can play a part. The civil rights activists of the sixties were risking far more that we risk today, but we are doing it under the same umbrella: freedom.

We are blessed to live in a time where we are encouraged to speak our mind and expose the injustices of today. With that said, the fact of the matter is, there are more people in slavery today than every in the history of the world— equaling over 27 million.

This includes sex slavery, as well as debt bondage. The Founder and President of Wellspring Living Mary Frances Bowley once told me that social injustice issues are only as prevalent as the surrounding communities allow them to be. Meaning, the issue of domestic human trafficking in Atlanta will continue to stick around as long as the communities of Georgia remain silent. Take a moment to let that sink in.

Now, becoming a modern-day abolitionist is not something to take lightly.

It takes making yourself an expert on a very dark and twisted issue.

It takes giving of your time to organizations that are fighting the issue daily.

It takes sacrificing your extra funds to provide a safe home for restoration of current slaves.

And it takes a starting point.

Join us tonight at 7:30pm (to kick off) and for the next 72 days as we partner with Passion City Church to raise our voices for freedom in Atlanta, Georgia, the United States, and ultimately the world.

We CAN end this modern-day slavery, but it takes a multitude of voices. Be a part of the movement!

I will be as harsh as truth, and uncompromising as justice… I am in earnest, I will not equivocate, I will not excuse, I will not retreat a single inch, and I will be heard.

William Lloyd Garrison

