This past Friday morning I had the honor of driving down to the Gwinnett Arena for the 2011 Catalyst Conference. These types of conferences always get me pumped up for two very distinct reasons; they challenge me to do something new and they call out who I really am. And this year was no different. When you put Andy Stanley, Priscilla Shirer, and Blake Mycoskie of TOMS Shoes in the same arena you can’t help but get a shot of encouragement and a challenge to do something more with your life. These guys don’t live in the 75% of their potential, or strive for second best when they know first is achievable. They set the standards high and hope people will catch a glimpse of the greatness they are seeking and follow suit.

The theme of the entire conference was to Be Present in every aspect of your life. To stop sleeping through seasons of your life, to Start Something That Matters, and live up to the full potential that we know is possible through Christ. It was a pretty intense calling, but a necessary reminder.

The challenge for me at Catalyst was to be present. Our IPhones, social media networking sites, and demanding schedules have a very sneaky way of keeping us ‘present’ in the World Wide Web, but ‘absent’ in your typical person-to-person conversation. When was the last time the person sitting across from you was more important than your Twitter update? Don’t get me wrong, I am a huge advocate for social media, networking, and keeping yourself well-informed about current news, but sometimes I can definitely take it too far. It was a good reminder for all of us to prioritize our time and be present in our conversations and interactions with people in our day-to-day lives.

The call out for me was the reminder that I am a voice. Every single one of us has been created and distinctively formed to do something unique. For me, it is the ability to use my voice and this platform to communicate the mission of Wellspring Living. It’s a privilege to use my talents in this way, and something that I shouldn’t take lightly.

What is your calling? Is it photography? Is it baking? Administration? Political presence? Your gifts, passions, and creativity are not something to be ignored. There are people in this world who need YOU to use your gifts to give them a better life and free them from slavery. How are you using your talents? Are there better ways to prioritize your time and help others in need? Let that settle for a second. Be present and be creative. Do something with your talents that no one has done before.

